Ward 3 Council seat acclaimed.

The nomination period begins on May 9th, 2022 and runs until 12 p.m. (noon) on June 13, 2022 (Nomination Day).  


Purposes, Powers and Capacity of Municipalities

The Canadian Constitution delegates responsibilities for municipal institutions to the provinces. The province of Alberta provides the structure for local governments by statute with the Municipal Government Act being the primary set of rules under which municipalities must operate.

Council roles and responsibilities 

The council is the governing body of the municipal corporation and the custodian of its powers, both legislative and administrative. The Municipal Government Act provides that councils can only exercise the powers of the municipal corporation in the proper form, either by bylaw or resolution.
The councillor's job is to work with other council members to set the overall direction of the municipality through their role as a policy maker. The policies that council sets are the guidelines for administration to follow as it does the job of running a municipality. A councillor will spend a lot of time while on council creating new policies and programs or reviewing the current ones to make sure they are working as they should.

The Municipal District of Bighorn is made up of four wards. 

They include:

Ward 1:  Comprised of the Hamlet of Exshaw, Kananaskis and Seebe settlements, and lands in townships 25-26 Range 9 to the north of Exshaw.

Ward 2:  Comprised of the hamlets of Dead Man's Flats, Lac Des Arc, and Harvie Heights; lands around the Trans-Canada Highway between those hamlets; Lands South of Ranch Road; and M.D. lands in Range 10.

Ward 3:  Comprised of the West Jumpingpound region south of the Trans Canada Highway and west of Highway 68; and the M.D. lands in between the Bow and Ghost Rivers.

Ward 4:  Consists of the hamlet of Benchlands and all M.D. Lands north of the Ghost River, found in Townships 27-31; and a small portion of lands in Township 26 Range 7.

2017-Ward Boundaries